2021 NRL Media Guide

NRL Media Guide 2021

The NRL Media Guide provides everything you need to know for the 2021 NRL Telstra Premiership Season from Contacts, Guidelines, Draw, Records, Referee Squad Information and Rules, and Clubs .

National Rugby League
$9.99 per month after trial

in this issue

3 min

Australian Rugby League Commission Chairman: Peter V’landys AM Commissioners: The Hon. Peter Beattie AC Professor Megan Davis Wayne Pearce OAM Dr Gary Weiss AM Tony McGrath Kate Jones Welcome to the 2021 NRL Telstra Premiership season The 2020 season can best be summed up by three words. Adversity. Innovation. Celebration. A year where we defied the impossible. The spirit of rugby league enabled us to complete the most remarkable of seasons in 2020. In 2021, following those significant challenges, we will look to renovate and grow. To attract new fans and participants and ensure our existing fan base remains committed to our sport – whether that be watching, attending or playing. The Commission began that process during the 2020 season with the creation of new rules which made the game more entertaining and free flowing. With that focus –…

10 min

AUSTRALIA RUGBY LEAGUE CENTRAL Driver Avenue Moore Park NSW 2021 Locked Bag 5000, Paddington NSW 2021 Phone: (02) 9359 8500 Email: reception@nrl.com.au Website: nrl.com NATIONAL RUGBY LEAGUE MEDIA CONTACTS General Manager Media & Communications: Daniel Meers (02) 9359 8654, 0419 576 961 Media and Communications Manager: Glenn Jackson (02) 9359 8520, 0402 048 868 PARTICIPATION AND COMMUNITY Head of Football – Participation, Pathways and Community: Luke Ellis 0408 274 936 General Manager, Sports Services: Andrew Banasik 0408 025 311 General Manager, Game Development: James Hinchey 0412 819 119 General Manager, Participation & Programs including Affiliated States: John Wilson 0458 011 144 General Manager, Community Programs: Steve Meredith 0413 544 333 General Manager, Player Pathways: Brad Donald 0448 890 044 General Manager, Indigenous Strategy: Mark deWeerd 0412 518 801 NEW SOUTH WALES RUGBY LEAGUE 12-14 Dawn Fraser Avenue, Sydney Olympic Park, NSW, 2127 PO Box 584, Sydney Markets NSW 2129 Phone:…

37 min
media guidelines

2.1 APPLICATION 2.1.1 Unless otherwise indicated, words and expressions defined in the NRL Rules have the same meaning in these Media Rules. 2.1.2 Match means any NRL Competition match. 2.1.3 These Media Rules form part of the NRL Operations Manual which forms Schedule Eight to the NRL Rules. 2.1.4 Every Club and person bound by the NRL Rules must comply with the provisions of these Media Rules. 2.1.5 A breach of any of the provisions of the NRL Operations Manual (including these Media Rules) may be enforced by the imposition of a penalty or penalties pursuant to Part 2 of the NRL Rules. 2.1.6 All Game Day operations will be overseen by an NRL Compliance Manager and/or NRL Ground Manager 2.2 MEDIA ACCREDITATION 2.2.1 Media Accreditation will be considered for the following levels: A) Level One Host Broadcasters…

1 min

66 min

TEAM MILESTONES The Gold Coast Titans require a victory over the Warriors in the opening round of the season to break the club’s record of five consecutive wins. South Sydney require 10 tries to bring up 7,000 tries scored since 1908. The Melbourne Storm require two wins for 400 wins since joining the NRL in 1998. Brisbane require three wins to notch their 500th win since joining the competition in 1988. Canberra need three wins for 500 wins since they joined the premiership in 1982. PLAYER MILESTONES Penrith halfback Nathan Cleary requires 191 points to become the third Panthers player to score 1,000 points for the club after Ryan Girdler (1,572) and Greg Alexander (1,104). South Sydney halfback Adam Reynolds requires 206 points to overtake Eric Simms’ all-time pointscoring record for the Rabbitohs. Simms scored 1,841 points…

5 min
referees squad

NRL REFEREES SQUAD 2021 Grant Atkins Matt Cecchin Ben Cummins Adam Gee Peter Gough Phil Henderson Liam Kennedy Ashley Klein Dave Munro Matt Noyen Drew Oultram Henry Perenara Ziggy Przeklasa-Adamski Belinda Sharpe Jon Stone Chris Sutton Gerard Sutton GRANT ATKINS Age: 38 Occupation: Referee FG games: 283 (181 referee, 102 touch judge) Games 2020: 20 FG debut: Parramatta v Sydney Roosters, Rd 25, 2011 Achievements: Oceania Cup (2019), Pacific Test (‘18, ‘19), WC (’13, ’17), Four Nations (’14), NRL Finals (’13-14, ’16, ’18-20), Origin (touch judge, ’13), All Stars (’15, ’17, ‘19), Nines Final (’17, ‘20), PNG v PM’s XIII (’14), PNG v Jillaroos (’17), Women’s Origin (’19) BEN CUMMINS Age: 47 Occupation: Referee/Primary School Teacher FG games: 384 Games 2020: 20 FG debut: North Qld v Penrith, Rd 9, 2006 Achievements: NRL Grand Final (2012-13, 2015-16, 2019), World Cup (’13, ’17), Pacific Test (’15-17), Col Pearce Medal (’12, ’16), Origin…